Certification Council

About the Council
The Certification Council, which is the governing body for ETCP, marks an unprecedented alliance of leaders representing all facets of the entertainment technology industry. At the core of the Council are the industry organizations whose presence ensures their members' voices will be heard during the development process, and their involvement is an invaluable resource as the program continues to grow.

Representing potential candidates, those who employ them, and those in whose facilities they work, these organizations have embraced the benefits that personnel certification can bring to our industry. It was also critical to the process that large employers be seated at the table. These currently include Cirque du Soleil, Disney Theatrical, NBC Universal, PRG, PSAV, and Walt Disney Park & Resorts.

Representing the Electrical and Rigging Subject Matter Experts on the Council are the Chairs of these groups, all highly respected authorities in their fields. Bringing additional viewpoints and leadership skills to the Council are individuals appointed for their experience in a wide range of areas including program development, marketing and fundraising, legal issues, and training.

SME Chairs
Electrical Skills

Derek Coleman

Alan Rowe
Safety & Training Director, IATSE Local 728 and Chair of the IATSE International Craft Advancement Program

Steve Terry
Director of Standards and Industry Relations of ETC

Rigging Skills

Karen Butler
Owner, Suddlenly Scenic

Bill Sapsis
President of Sapsis Rigging, Inc.


Organizational Members
*denotes Council Chair

Tim Hansen*
Industrial Sales Manager for Oasis Stage Werks

Scott Hoyt
Treasurer of ESTA and Vice President of Heartland Scenic Studios

Jules Lauve
ESTA President and Principal, Theatre Projects

Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers (AMPTP)

Matt Antonucci
Vice President Production Affairs
and Safety

The Broadway League

Canadian Institute for Theatre Technology (CITT)

Monique Corbeil

National Coordinator of CITT

Event Safety Alliance

Steve Adelman
Head, Adleman Law Group, PLLC

InfoComm International

International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE)

Brian Lawlor
International Representative

Pat White
Director of Education and Training

International Association of Venue Managers (IAVM)

Russell Read
Director of Experience,
City of Ceder Hill, TX


Michael Finney
Director of Technical Design for Thinkwell Design & Production

United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT)

Joe Aldridge

USITT Past President, and Coordinator of Entertainment Engineering and Design, College of Fine Arts, University of Nevada Las Vegas

Paul Brunner
Secretary, USITT
Director, USITT-Midwest Regional Section
Associate Professor - Technical Director
Head of Theatre Technology
Indiana University – Theatre, Drama, and Contemporary Dance

Business Members
Broadway Across America

Mark Bumgardner
National Director of Production/Theatrical

Cirque du Soleil

Tom Lapp
Technical Manager of Rigging

Peter Thompson
Technical Manager - Lighting and Projection, Resident Show Division  

Disney Theatrical Productions

Mark Elliott
Director, Corporate Safety

James M. Garner
Manager, Physical Production

Live Nation

Isaac Thompson
Operations Manager - FirstMerit Bank Pavillion at Northerly Island, Chicago

NBC Universal

Paul Jordan
Vice President Production Safety

Greg Petruska
Director, Environmental Health
and Safety

Production Resource Group

Fred Gallo
President - Scenic Operations

Jere Harris
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Orestes Mihaly
General Manager


Todd Spencer
Vice President,
Global Rigging Services

Walt Disney Parks
and Resorts

David E. Miller
Manager, Technical Direction and Systems


Individual Members
Steven Ehrenberg
President, Eberg Staging Solutions
Tony Galuppi
National Rigging Manager,
VER Sales
Dr. Marilyn Hetzel
Professor and Director of Theatre at
Metropolitan State University
of Denver
Kent Jorgensen
Safety and Training Representative for IATSE Local 80
Eddie Raymond
Immediate Past President of ESTA and Former Vice President of IATSE Local 16 in San Francisco


About ETCP
Code of Ethics
> Council Members
Staff Listing
Test Developers

Media Partners

© Copyright , ESTA. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | Privacy Statement | Contact Us | ESTA
ETCP, 630 Ninth Avenue, Suite 609, New York, NY 10036 • Tel: +1 212 244 1505 • Fax: +1 212 244 1502